Board Member Eileen Sullivan-Marx Named Nursing Academy President-Elect

UHF board member Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean and Erline Perkins McGriff Professor of New York University's Rory Meyers College of Nursing, has been named president-elect of the American Academy of Nursing. She will serve in that role from 2017 to 2019 and will then assume the Academy's presidency for a two-year term.

With more than 2,400 fellows, the Academy brings together nursing leaders in education management, practice, and research. Dr. Sullivan-Marx co-leads the organization's Edge Runner National Advisory Council.

A nationally recognized nurse leader, educator, and clinician, Dr. Sullivan-Marx was elected to the UHF board in June. She has served as dean of the College of Nursing since 2012, following a distinguished career at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing.

Co-chair of the New York City Mayor's Summit on Mental Health Workgroup, charged with enhancing existing mental health training programs, Dr. Sullivan-Marx was formerly an American Political Science Congressional Fellow and senior advisor to the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services Office of Medicaid and Medicare Coordination.

Oct. 10, 2017